Touring Xena: Warrior Princess Filming Locations in New Zealand

I am a fan of Xena: Warrior Princess, a 1990s TV show filmed in New Zealand. I couThe famous Xena rock!ld wax on at length about the many reasons why it is fabulous, but I’ll simply say that anyone uninterested in the show might want to skip this post. Xena was filmed at various sites in the Auckland region, and finding some of them was one of the main things I wanted to do while I was in the area. I took a day trip out to the Bethells Beach area, the site of many, many Xena locations, where I met up with John and Trude Bethell-Paice, who own vacation cottages overlooking the lovely beach. The beach is public, but a lot of the show was filmed on their private land nearby, and John took me on a tour to see some of the main filming spots.

BetMy "Nissan Sunny" car -- on a very rainy day.hells is about an hour west of Auckland, and getting there involved renting a car for the day. This was my first experience driving on the left side of the road, so it was a bit of an adventure. It was surprisingly easy to adjust, and I managed to stay on the left side all day long, but the number of times I adjusted the windshield wipers while attempting to turn is a little embarrassing. I did only walk to the wrong side of the car once, however. There is also an extremely silly NZ road rule requiring the person turning left, who would have right of way in Britain (the equivalent of a right turn in the US, where you also have right of way) to give way to an oncoming car turning right against the traffic. I vaguely understand this in theory when you show me a nice diagram, but I don’t see how it actually helps anyone, and it’s very irritating in practice when you’re busy trying to figure out where you need to turn. But otherwise, incident-free driving and I am rather proud.

Bethells Beach could, I think, be quite lovely, and it certainly looks prettyView of the beach from above -- looking north. on Xena, but naturally it poured with rain the entire day I visited, so I got soaked and didn’t get to appreciate the area at its best. If the weather is like that a lot, I have a new respect for Lucy Lawless, Renee O’Connor, and anyone else involved in the show who had to deal with the weather in their skimpy costumes, while also trying not to look freezing while on camera. The rain wasn’t heavy, but it was pretty persistent, and the wind was strong.  Side note: my rental car was a Nissan Sunny, which amused me, but I would have preferred a Rainy car and a nicer day.

YouHow come Poseidon didn't pop up out of the water to greet me? have to drive down a long back road to the beach, and I was very excited when the hills suddenly parted and I got a clear glimpse of the “Xena rock” (the one in the opening credits when Poseidon appears out of the water). I parked up and walked along the beach by myself, because no one else was mad enough to be out there with the weather. It looks pretty much as it does on the show, although the winds and the sands have altered a few features like the dunes in the background of the beach. The beach has been used in so many scenes that it’s not worth listing them all, but the most notable ones jumping to my mind are Caesar’s crucifixion of Xena in Destiny, Eve’s baptism and the final scene of Motherhood, and the final scene of The Bitter Suite when Xena and Gabrielle are lying in the waves.

There is a bay off to the northern end that looked familiar, but it wasClose-up of the cave, at high tide so we couldn't go in. blocked off by water so I couldn’t get over to it to explore. At the south end (the end where Xena is crucified; you are looking north in that scene and the Xena rock is behind you) there is a trail up to Bethells Beach Cottages. The rock itself looks just like it does on TV, and if you look at it side-on you can see the cave that Callisto used as a camp in Return of Callisto. Apparently you can go inside the cave, but it was high tide when I was there so I didn’t. I’m sure that’s been in other episodes as well, but I am not certain which ones.

The mSomehow it just doesn't look right without a row of crosses and the Roman army nearby...ain surprise for me (other than Poseidon not popping up to greet me; what, am I not special enough for that?) was how dark the sand was. I knew Bethells was a black sand beach, but it had never been something I really noticed on the show. The sand is really quite dark, and for some reason had an interesting two-tone effect, with the sand near the water being a lot lighter than the drier sand further from the waves. Strange but very pretty. It’s something to do with the sand being volcanic residue, and also related to high iron content. The waves are also pretty strong, and the beach is popular with surfers. Other than a lifeguard hut at one end, it is perfect for a filming location because there is no human development on it at all.

I found John after that, and he drove me around their plot of land to sevexena 2011-12-14 022ral other cool locations. I saw the pine forest that was the home of many forest scenes, such as the wolf chase scene in Girls Just Wanna Have Fun and the opening battle of Path of Vengeance, plus miscellaneous campfires and fights. These trees are an introduced species, but grow well and are used for timber. The forest is one of those places that isn’t actually that spectacular, but with the right filming techniques it can be reused a lot of times, so the blandness is a helpful feature. I suspect a lot of scenes featuring Amazons were filmed here.

bethellsmap

It might help if I describe the lay-out of this area. Think of an L shape, with Bethells Beach as the vertical part and Bethells Beach Cottages in the corner. The pine forest is theXena's fishing spot, aka the location of most lakeside scenes. And yes, there are fish in there, I could not resist asking. base of the L, and just above it are some extensive sand dunes, which form a barrier between the beach and Lake Wainamu (aka “Xena’s fishing spot”) to the east. I made a map to go along with the description in case it doesn’t make sense (click it for a larger version). We visited the lake first, and it looks just as you would expect, although I didn’t realise how long it is. If you look out at it from the shore (think of the end scene of Mortal Beloved), it actually is about a kilometre long. There is a little part of the shore that they used to film Fins, Femmes and Gems that looked very familiar, although the dock is not there in reality.

A few pieces of trivia about the lake: because of the way the sand duneView over the lake, which was formed because the sand dunes blocked its outlet to the ocean.s move according to the winds, it is getting smaller every year. The lake is a bit warmer and a lot calmer than the ocean, so you can swim in it, although not the day I was there. The angle of the sand means that you can dive in and it drops off very fast, so when Xena dives to swim to the underworld in Mortal Beloved, you can actually do that. (Return trip from the underworld not guaranteed.) And yes, there are fish in there, so Xena would be happy – although they are mostly introduced species that John informed me are not worth catching.

WeCallisto is buried somewhere around here, too. explored the giant sand dunes next. These are familiar from scenes like the Chariots of War chase sequence (in the opening credits), the Callisto chase sequence, Callisto’s quicksand death in Return of Callisto, and, I believe, the desert scenes in Legacy. The main dunes are quite high up and they overlook a river, which is where the Chariots of War scene was filmed with the dunes off to the side. (Trivia: they filmed both ways, so on TV it looks like there are dunes on the left and the right, but there are actually only dunes on the south side of the river.) John drove me right through that river, but we couldn’t go too far because the rain made the water too high. Likewise, there are apparently some remains of an Amazon village filming location but that trail was impassable.

John actually worked occasionally as a driver for the crew, so he shareA truck owned by my guide's late brother-in-law, used to transport less-important cast and crew around. Important people got to ride in SUVs.d a few filming secrets with me too. He has driven both Lucy and Renee around, and various other cast and crew although he could not remember exactly whom. The pecking order was such that the important people like actors and directors got driven around in SUVs, and the regular folks had to share space in farm trucks. He showed me one owned by his late brother-in-law, and it didn’t look that comfortable! Some of the crew tried to drive themselves around at first, but after a lot of people getting stuck in the sand and so on, they agreed that filming could only happen on the land if the locals provided the transport. I think that’s fair enough.

The way filming worBack at my guide's house; this candelabra is a show prop.ked was that the crews would set up a base camp location, sometimes up to a mile away from the actual filming area, where the generators and catering trucks and so on would be, and then the cast, crew and equipment would be transported to the filming area. Imagine driving all the lighting, sound and camera gear, plus generators to power everything, all over those sand dunes. I don’t know how many people would have been involved, but I am sure it was quite a sight.

We went back up to Bethells Beach Cottages (which looked lovely, btw, although way out of my budget to actually stay at). Kevin Sorbo apparently stayed there a couple of times. John had one last surprise for me and brought up a few Xena props he anDetail on the sword hilts.d Trude had purchased. They had a candelabra thing that I didn’t recognise from any particular episode (maybe Egyptian? maybe from Hercules? Any guesses?), and two swords. One was metal (with a broken handle, although that doesn’t show up in pictures) and blunt, though fairly heavy. I assume they used these in shots where the sword had to look realistic. The other one was plastic and very light, so likely used when filming the main actors during a fight scene. I am pretty sure this sword belonged to Ares, although I haven’t been able to find it in a screencap to compare.

NeedlThis just had to happen...ess to say, when the swords came out, one particular picture just had to be taken. Sadly, I don’t look quite as cool as Xena despite my best efforts. Maybe if I wore the costume too?

John mentioned that a local antique shop had some Xena props, and I still had some time, so I took a quick detour that way. The shop is called Just Plane Interesting in Henderson, in case anyone reading this is ever in the Bethells area. They have all their stuff on display in a weird, darI think the sarcophagus on the left was in "Blind Faith" when they cremate Gabrielle; the one on the right from "The Bitter Suite."k “Xena Dedication Room,” with a baffling sign saying that no children are allowed. There’s nothing very scary in there: a couple of sarcophaguses (my guess is the one they cremate Gabrielle in in Blind Faith and one of the “Hate” coffins in The Bitter Suite that Callisto et al pop out of), a few swords and daggers, a lot of animal skulls from the Amazons, and a few other bits and pieces.

Most notable is a bust of the late Kevin Smith (Ares), which was lit to look rather creepy and didn’t seem like a very good lIn a random antique shop the guide told me about; a bust of the late Kevin Smith (Ares). Sadly not a very good likeness.ikeness, but was a nice tribute to him nonetheless. For anyone desperate to own a Xena prop, this store had everything for sale, as well as a lot of cool non-Xena items.

That was it for my Xena day. A lot of fun, and I highly recommend heading out that way to any fans who find themselves in Auckland. Even if you don’t do the whole tour like I did, a stroll on Bethells Beach is about as close as a Xenite can come to a pilgrimage. It’s quite easy to get to, and then you will have the immense pleasure, as I do, of being able to point at the TV anytime you have the show on and announce, “I’ve been there!”

More pictures are in my Auckland album.

No innocent Kiwis were harmed by the author driving on the wrong side of the road during the creation of this blog post.

This entry was posted in New Zealand and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Touring Xena: Warrior Princess Filming Locations in New Zealand

  1. Avril Housden says:

    What a wonderful day you have had despite the miserable weather! You are a true fan that’s for sure! Good job with the driving too – I agree that a sunny day would have been better than a Sunny car! X

    Like

  2. Deb and Owen Whitman says:

    I am so jealous of your travels, it is an amazing adventure.

    Owen wants to know if the sword is real or not!

    Have fun and send a photo of a koala if you see one in AU

    Lots of love,

    The Whitmans

    Like

    • Jessica says:

      Hi Deb and Owen!

      Good to hear from you, and I hope you’re doing well. I will see what I can do about sending a koala pic. Yes, the sword was real. I heard he and my dad had a sword fight a couple of weeks ago, and I bet Owen would have won if he had used this sword. 😉

      Take care!

      Like

  3. Jimmy says:

    Awesome blog! If you love Xena join your fellow Xenites here! http://www.facebook.com/Xena2011MovieCampaign

    We are trying to gather fan support to demand a movie!

    Like

  4. angela says:

    Beautiful photos! I’d love to see the opening shot [where Lucy is standing on that cliff with the wind blowing] in person.

    Like

  5. Matthew says:

    I just did this pilgrimage today! But I met Sam wheeler instead. Thanks heaps. I would have looked really stupid dpi g the xena warcry on the beach!

    Like

  6. cr says:

    Nice account. You found some information about the filming that I wasn’t aware of.

    The Auckland weather – does whatever it feels like doing. ‘Changeable’ is the word. If it rained _all_ day then you were very unlucky. But (on the west coast) it very frequently is windy and cold, even on days when there are periods of sun. Renpics just had to shoot whenever they got the opportunity. So, yes, the stars (and the rest of the cast, and crew, and extras) would have had to put up with some pretty awful conditions from time to time. It’s not the sort of thing you’d do for a regular job. (If you really want to see some miserable rain conditions – Episode 1 of Sin Trade, the Deer River sequence – Lucy was magnificent in that scene).

    The little bay to the north that you couldn’t reach – called Waitakere Bay – was only ever used for the third ‘Ring’ episode (Return of the Valkyrie?) where Xena walked out of the water in that white dress looking stunning and confronted Odin (“You say you’re Odin, but I don’t know you from your horse”). But Bethells Beach itself and the stream and dunes were used more than any other outside location.

    Oh, and that sword – it looks to me like Ares’ sword. If that’s a metal Ares sword then (even with some damage) it’s worth quite a bit. They only made a very few metal swords, for close-ups, all the other swords were ‘resin’ (plastic), for reasons of cost and I guess safety. They also had some super-lightweight swords made of foam which they used if somebody had to fight one of the leads (didn’t want bruises on your stars or guests).

    Anyway, nice page and a good read. Thanks!

    Like

  7. cr says:

    You mean the one with the sea and the high island (actually a peninsula) behind her, where it says “Starring Lucy Lawless”? That’s a spot that was only once ever used in the series, I think in Gabrielle’s Hope, where Xena was running along the clifftop. It’s just north of Bethells beach itself, on the western side of Taumaiti Hill above O’Neill’s Bay, the ‘island’ is Erangi Point. I expect the film crew reached there by driving up through the paddocks on the eastern (gently sloping) side of the hill. It can be reached with a bit of effort from the western side by climbing up the very steep scrub-covered hillside from the Te Henga Track, and the top edge of the cliff is just outside the fenceline so in public land. Probably take a couple of hours return from Bethells. More than you wanted to know 😉
    (You can download the large-scale map of the area free from LINZ, it’s map BA30, (unless they’ve locked it for NZ downloads only), otherwise there’s one at http://cr01.info/waterfalls/waitakere/maps/waitakeres1-01.jpg.)

    Like

  8. cr says:

    Sorry, that was meant to be a reply to Angela.

    Like

  9. martine says:

    HI Jess, John and Trude are our friends and it is so nice to see that they assisted you with the Xena tour. You made a very good blog of it. If you want to know about the film locations go to my website http://www.loyaltoxena.com. But I think you covered most of the locations. Lake Wainamu, well yes, a dive to the underworld is spectactual and I made it back each time. LOL!

    But …..I found that Xena tree where Xena talks to Eli. I still have to post that.

    But every place where it was filmed remains a very interesting place. And when you have visited them, then you only understand how a masterpiece it was to film it in such a way that we had weekly movie show on TV.

    Happy you had a good time.

    Lots of love
    Martine

    Like

  10. Jes says:

    do you remember what the cottages are called ? 🙂 I’d love to go

    Like

  11. Holding Ares’s sword in the place it all happened is priceless. Sadly, livefilestore.com with all the Aukland photos is gone.

    Like

    • Jessica says:

      The link doesn’t work for some reason, but you can still see the photos if you click Photo Gallery —> New Zealand —> Auckland in the top menu. Thanks for visiting and commenting! 🙂

      Like

  12. Nigel Fortune says:

    Lovely page and photos looks like you really enjoyed your visit : )

    Like

Leave a comment